27 River Drive, Tarwin Lower VIC 3956
Tarwin Lower is a small community nestled on the banks of the Tarwin River, under an hour’s drive from the heart of Wilsons Promontory National Park and around two hours from Melbourne. The Hall was founded in 1888 and built in 1890 and has been in use ever since. After World War 1 the hall was extended and became a meeting place for the local RSL and assumed the added title of Memorial Hall.
Building restoration fund
The hall is situated on crown land currently managed by a State Gov. Department (DELWP). It is not maintained by the South Gippsland Shire and our small group of volunteers need to apply for grants for all of our projects. The markets generate an income for us for current expenses only.
While the internal main hall has been recently painted and looks terrific in its heritage colours, the external east, west and south walls are in a poor state or repair with flaky paintwork, and exposed and rotting weatherboards. We desperately need funds to replace the weatherboards and externally paint the whole hall. This may cost between $50,000 and $100,000. This is a huge amount of money to raise.
We would be delighted if you would like to make a donation to our building restoration fund. Please make a direct payment to:
Tarwin Lower Mechanics Institute Restoration Fund
ACC No: 1801321193
or contact us at via our contact form